Children and Young People

$Children and Young People – UTLA | $Worcestershire

Children and Young People Report for Worcestershire

Improving the level of education and skills present within a local population remains an important policy objective for both local and central government. The task of implementing initiatives to improve life-long learning and enhance individual development (and employability) represents a significant and essential challenge for local authorities.

Where the charts in this report display error bars, these display the lower and upper 95% confidence intervals.

Student population, Worcestershire (2021)

Name Worcestershire
Student 101,643
Not a student 472,429

Source: ONS, Census 2021

Export this chart as an imageDownload data as CSV

Student population, England (2021)

Name England
Student 10,920,505
Not a student 42,492,592

Source: ONS, Census 2021

Export this chart as an imageDownload data as CSV

Degree or equivalent and above for Worcestershire (2021-12)



Download data as CSV

Qualifications – GCSE (2021-12)

Name Degree or equivalent and above Higher education below degree level GCE A level or equivalent GCSE grades A-C or equivalent Other qualifications (GCSE) No qualifications (GCSE)
Worcestershire 35.5 [33.9↔37.2] 8.5 [7.6↔9.5] 22.5 [21.1↔23.9] 22.7 [21.3↔24.1] 6 [5.2↔6.8] 4.8 [4.1↔5.6]
England 36.8 [36.7↔36.9] 7.1 [7↔7.2] 21.7 [21.6↔21.8] 20.7 [20.6↔20.8] 7.2 [7.1↔7.3] 6.5 [6.4↔6.6]

Source: APS

Export this chart as an imageDownload data as CSV

Qualifications – NVQ (2021-12)

Name NVQ1+ NVQ2+ NVQ3+ NVQ4+ Trade Apprenticeships Other qualifications (NVQ) No qualifications (NVQ)
Worcestershire 90.9 [89.4↔92.5] 81.6 [79.6↔83.6] 61.9 [59.3↔64.5] 43.2 [40.6↔45.9] 2.8 [1.9↔3.7] 4.4 [3.3↔5.5] 4.7 [3.6↔5.9]
England 87.8 [87.6↔88] 78.2 [78↔78.4] 61.3 [61.1↔61.6] 43.1 [42.9↔43.4] 2.7 [2.6↔2.8] 5.9 [5.8↔6] 6.4 [6.3↔6.6]

Source: APS

Export this chart as an imageDownload data as CSV

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. Children are defined as having reached a good level of development if they achieve at least the expected level in the early learning goals in the prime areas of learning (personal, social and emotional development; physical development; and communication and language) and the early learning goals in the specific areas of mathematics and literacy.


Key stage 2 refers to Year 3 to Year 6 and to pupils aged between 7 and 11. At the end of key stage 2, pupils are assessed by national curriculum tests in reading, mathematics and grammar, punctuation and spelling. Pupils also receive a teacher assessment outcome in writing, science, reading and mathematics based on the standards in the interim frameworks for teacher assessment. The combined measures use the reading and mathematics test results and the outcome of the writing teacher assessment.

Key stage 4 refers to Year 10 and Year 11, when pupils are aged between 14 and 16. Most children take GCSEs or other national qualifications in Year 11.

Attainment 8 measures the average achievement of pupils in up to 8 qualifications including English (double weighted if both language and literature are taken), maths (double weighted), three further qualifications that count in the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) and three further qualifications that can be GCSE qualifications (including EBacc subjects) or any other non-GCSE qualifications on the DfE approved list. A higher score indicates a greater level of achievement.

Key stage 5 refers to the two years of education for students aged 16-18 sitting AS and A levels.

The average point score per entry is calculated by dividing the total number of points achieved by students in a particular cohort by the total size of entries for those students. Points are assigned for each qualification achieved, on a 0-60 scale for A levels (with an A* grade worth 60) and a 0-50 scale for applied general and tech level qualifications (with a Distinction* grade worth 50). These statistics cover students aged 16, 17 or 18 at the start of the academic year, at the end of advanced level study who were entered for at least one academic qualification at least half (0.5) the size of an A level (180 Guided Learning Hours) or an Extended Project Qualification (size 0.3) during 16-18 study, and include results achieved during all years of 16-18 study.

Absolute low income

Absolute low-income is defined as a family whose equivalised income is below 60 per cent of the 2010/11 median income adjusted for inflation. Gross income measure is Before Housing Costs (BHC) and includes contributions from earnings, state support and pensions.

Relative low income

Relative low-income is defined as a A family in low income before housing costs (BHC) in the reference year. A family must have claimed one or more of Universal Credit, Tax Credits or Housing Benefit at any point in the year to be classed as low income in these statistics.

The data below is taken from the School Census, which covers a wide range of information on the characteristics of schools and the pupils within them. All schools that are open on Census day (usually in mid-January) are required to submit a return. Entitlement to free school meals is determined by the receipt of income-related benefits.

Children have special educational needs if they have a learning difficulty which calls for special educational provision to be made for them. An Education, Health and Care (EHC) plan details the education, health and social care support that is to be provided to a child or young person who has Special Educational Needs (SEN) or a disability.

The section below displays Index of Multiple Deprivation deciles, where 1 indicates the most deprived decile and 10 the least deprived decile. Deciles are calculated by ranking the 32, 844 neighbourhoods in England from most deprived to least deprived and dividing them into 10 equal groups. The Index of Multiple Deprivation (IMD) is the official measure of deprivation in England.  Note that the IMD is a relative index – it can be used to compare the relative level of deprivation between areas, but does not quantify how deprived a particular area is.

The IDACI is a subset of the Income Deprivation Domain, with the Index showing the proportion of children aged 0 – 15 in each Lower-layer Super Output Area that live in families that are income deprived (those that are in receipt of Income Support, income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance, Pension Credit Guarantee or Child Tax Credit below a given threshold).